Setting up Eclipse

From iDempiere en
Revision as of 09:07, 9 September 2019 by Mbozem (talk | contribs)

⇐ Table of Contents | Download the Code | Setting up Eclipse | Importing DB Seed Manually ⇒

Materialize and build

On the operating system navigate to the folder where you cloned the code, named above as $IDEMPIERE_REPOSITORY, f.e. /home/carlos/sources/myexperiment), and run the next command:

cd $HOME/sources/myexperiment
mvn verify -U

This command download all libraries on Bundle-ClassPath, build all projects and output binaries to org.idempiere.p2/target/products

Import projects in Eclipse

  • Open again the eclipse you configured with the workspace pointing to the folder where you cloned the code
  • Turn off Project > Build automatically
  • Navigate to File > Import
  • Navigate to Maven > Existing Maven Projects
  • Click Next button and Browse to $IDEMPIERE_REPOSITORY (must appear there by default)
  • All projects must appear selected, click Finish to complete the import
  • At the end all projects are loaded into workspace

Workspace settings

  • In eclipse, navigate to Window > Preferences > General > Workspace
  • set "Text file encoding" to "UTF-8" (if default is different)
  • set "New text file line delimiter" to "Unix" (if default is different)
  • navigate to Window > Preferences > Java > Compiler
  • set Java > Compiler > Compiler compliance level to "11"

Set target platform

  • Still in eclipse
  • Navigate to File > Import
  • Navigate to General > Existing Projects into Workspace
  • Click Next button and Browse to $IDEMPIERE_REPOSITORY/org.idempiere.p2.targetplatform
  • Click Finish to complete the import
  • Now open the file org.idempiere.p2.targetplatform.target within the project just imported org.idempiere.p2.targetplatform
    • This is the default target platform definition with remote url
    • Here eclipse takes some time downloading the required dependencies, you can prepare some Colombian coffee and wait patiently :)
  • At Target Editor, click the "Set as Active Target Platform" link
  • Wait for Eclipse to finish downloading bundles onto target platform
    • Click the "Reload" button if some download fail, until there are not red errors on the Locations list
  • At the end you can enabled back Project > Build automatically
  • Restart eclipse in order to do a clean build


This tutorial is brought to you by Carlos Ruiz from GlobalQSS. Feel free to improve directly or suggest using the Discussion tab.

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.