Difference between revisions of "Setting up Eclipse"
CarlosRuiz (talk | contribs) (Reorganize) Tag: visualeditor |
(Updated Eclipse setup for iDempiere 8.2) Tag: visualeditor |
||
| Line 62: | Line 62: | ||
* At the end you can enabled back Project > Build automatically | * At the end you can enabled back Project > Build automatically | ||
| + | * In case there are files with compilation errors you can right click on the iDempiere project and select Maven > Update Projects, then press OK | ||
Revision as of 21:21, 10 June 2021
⇐ Table of Contents | Download the Code | Setting up Eclipse | Importing DB Seed Manually ⇒
Materialize and build
On the operating system navigate to the folder where you cloned the code, named below as $IDEMPIERE_REPOSITORY (f.e. /home/carlos/sources/idempiere), and run the next command:
cd $HOME/sources/idempiere mvn verify
This command download all libraries on Bundle-ClassPath, build all projects and output binaries to org.idempiere.p2/target/products. If not, verify with mvn -version that maven is using the correct java-version.
Setup workspace in Eclipse
- Open again the eclipse you configured with the workspace pointing to the folder where you cloned the code
- Following the example here this folder would be $HOME/sources/idempiere
- Turn off Project > Build automatically
- Navigate to Window > Preferences > General > Workspace
- set "Text file encoding" to "UTF-8" (if default is different)
- set "New text file line delimiter" to "Unix" (if default is different)
- Navigate to Window > Preferences > Java > Compiler
- set Java > Compiler > Compiler compliance level to "11"
- in Java > Installed JREs add the java-11-openjdk JRE if not present and select it as the active JRE:
- click the Add button, then
- select Standard VM, click next
- enter "/usr/lib/jvm/java-11-openjdk-amd64" as JRE Home, click finish
- click the Checkbox next to the new entry to apply the changes.
- Not required, is a personal preference, but normally I switch here to Java perspective and choose to Working Sets as the Top Level Elements
Import projects in Eclipse
- Navigate to File > Import
- Navigate to Maven > Existing Maven Projects
- Click Next button and Browse to $IDEMPIERE_REPOSITORY (must appear there by default)
- Following the example here this folder would be $HOME/sources/idempiere
- All projects must appear selected, click Finish to complete the import
- At the end all projects are loaded into workspace
- Sometimes eclipse creates changes to the workspace, you can discard those changes at this point via right click on the projects and choosing Replace With > HEAD Revision
(just for 8.2) Import target platform
These steps are required if you work on 8.2, but not required with the current master branch (a.k.a. 8.2.z)
- Still in eclipse
- Navigate to File > Import
- Navigate to General > Existing Projects into Workspace
- Click Next button and Browse to $IDEMPIERE_REPOSITORY/org.idempiere.p2.targetplatform
- Click Finish to complete the import
Set target platform
- Now open the file org.idempiere.p2.targetplatform.target within the project org.idempiere.p2.targetplatform
- This is the default target platform definition with remote url
- Here eclipse takes some time downloading the required dependencies, you can prepare some Colombian coffee and wait patiently :)
- At Target Editor, click the "Set as Active Target Platform" link
- Wait for Eclipse to finish downloading bundles onto target platform
- Click the "Reload" button if some download fail, until there are not red errors on the Locations list
- At the end you can enabled back Project > Build automatically
- In case there are files with compilation errors you can right click on the iDempiere project and select Maven > Update Projects, then press OK
This tutorial is brought to you by Carlos Ruiz from BX Service GmbH. Feel free to improve directly or suggest using the Discussion tab.
⇐ Table of Contents | Download the Code | Setting up Eclipse | Importing DB Seed Manually ⇒
